What’s Their Secret? SAM CARRINGTON @sam_carrington1 confesses! #HerLastSecret

To celebrate #HerLastSecret going on sale, I’ve asked authors to share their secrets with me… Today it’s SAM CARRINGTON, author of Saving Sophie and Bad Sister.

Sam Carrington lives in Devon with her husband and three children. She worked for the NHS for fifteen years, during which time she qualified as a nurse. Following the completion of a psychology degree she went to work for the prison service as an Offending Behaviour Programme Facilitator. Her experiences within this field inspired her writing. She left the service to spend time with her family and to follow her dream of being a novelist. SAVING SOPHIE, her debut psychological thriller, published in September 2016. It became a Kindle eBook bestseller, with the paperback hitting The Bookseller Heatseeker chart at #8. Sam was named an Amazon Rising Star of 2016. Her next psychological thriller, BAD SISTER, publishes in October 2017 in ebook and December in paperback. 

B1TX2KMD9US._UX250_

 

Secret writing ritual…

I always start my writing day with social media – it’s like I can’t settle into my WIP before I’ve checked tweets! Then I must turn my swivel chair around three times before I open the manuscript document on my laptop … no, just kidding. I don’t think I have much of a ritual when writing, I’m more likely to when editing – like doing anything and everything other than open the manuscript!

Secret writing snack…

Ooh, so many! Oreo Thins, Dairy Milk chocolate and wotsits are the faves at the moment. Sometimes all at once.

Secret celebration when you finish a WIP…

Definitely some bubbly! Not so sure that’s a secret…

‘Guilty secret’ read…

Dan Brown’s The DaVinci Code. A lot of people I know slated it – but I read it on holiday years ago and thought it was really interesting and nothing like I’d read before.

‘Guilty secret’ tv programme…

I have a few of those! Recently I binge-watched Helix on Netflix – I had to watch while hubby was out as he hates sci-fi programmes, so I did series one in two days!

Shared secret

I was once in The News of The World newspaper – it was Michael Winner’s column – my name was his headline! All to do with the ‘guess whose eyes’ competition. I was so certain I was right I emailed him saying if I was wrong, I’d run around my garden naked.

I was wrong … you can guess where he went with that…

Secret peek into your new WIP

My next novel is Bad Sister – it’s my second psychological thriller, and is out as eBook NOW!

Quick teaser:

The heat pressed against her face.

On it. In it. Her cheeks felt like they were burning inside as well as out.

The little boy stood motionless beside her, his scorched pyjama bottoms trailing the pavement. His dark unblinking eyes stared up at the leaping flames erupting from the upper floor, then his attention turned to the bedroom window.

At the man screaming there…

Secret Santa… (If you could give a happy ending to any character who would it be, and what would you do?)

Hmm, interesting one! I’m not sure I’ve read that many books with characters who have had unhappy endings. I think I’d have to bundle up some good cheer and a happier ending (if it’s even possible!) for Amy and Nick Dunne from Gone Girl, though. What would I do? Give them each a new spouse!

THANKS FOR THOSE GREAT CONFESSIONS, SAM!

Facebook Header - Pre Order Her Last Secret

HER LAST SECRET is out on Friday 13th October. Lucky for you – unlucky for the Thomas family…
To pre-order or find our more, use the links below.
UK
US

Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.

They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.

They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them destroy them all?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

See what readers are saying about Her Last Secret:

OH MY WORD! This is a fantastic read!… I was totally immersed in the Thomas family’s story… Outstanding, I highly recommend!’ Chat About Books

‘Absolutely superb, she’s only gone and done it again – did NOT want to put this book down!!’ Donna’s Book Blog

‘I absolutely loved this well-written emotional rollercoaster, the twists in the story keep you hooked, trying to work out what happened that night. Highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime

‘Wow what a fantastic book, totally thrilling and captivating! A tangled web of lies and secrets is masterfully woven in this psychological thriller…I was hooked right from page one…a big fat 5 stars from me, I totally recommend this book.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

‘This is one hell of an engaging read…I am blown away. I cannot recommend this enough; it is without a doubt a must-read book. Giving it a massive 5 stars.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews

Praise for Barbara Copperthwaite:

‘It grips you by the throat and doesn’t let go. A tense, edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting ride’Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice and Cold Blood

‘Vividly written and absolutely gripping. I couldn’t put it down!’ The Genre Reader (5 stars)

‘There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing, leading all the way to a jaw-dropping ending that left me spinning.’ Novel Deelights (5 stars)

‘Gripping and shocking. Had me completely enthralled in the action…a story that got under my skin.’ Rachel’s Random Reads (5 stars)

‘A dark, compelling and unforgettable read that had me hooked. The final paragraph haunted me, long after I had finished reading.’ Brew and Books review (5 stars)

Addictive, Thrilling, Captivating! I could not put this book down, it captures your interest from the very first page until the very last.’ Book Reviews by Nicole (5 stars)

‘It really did make for some very emotional reading…There was a twist which totally rocked me.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘Plenty of red herrings and twists…If you like psychological thrillers, you’ll love it.’ Consumer reviewer (5 stars)

Leave a comment