Thank you & goodbye #bloggers #BookConnectors #HerLastSecret

Is there room enough to contain so many emotions at once inside a body? On Monday my new book, HER LAST SECRET, was revealed to the world and went on pre-order. Now it’s the countdown to publication day on Friday 13th October. Yes, Friday the 13th. Lucky for me, unlucky for the Thomas family who star in the book.

I’m so excited to finally see months of hard work finally going out into the world. If you haven’t seen it already, here’s the cover and blurb for you.

51INrqV0RpL

There are some secrets you can never tell.
The last thing to go through Dominique Thomas’s head was the image of her teenage daughter’s face and her heart lifted. Then the shot rang out.

They were the perfect family. Successful businessman Ben Thomas and his wife Dominique live an enviable life, along with their beautiful children; teenager Ruby and quirky younger daughter, Mouse. 

But on Christmas Day the police are called to their London home, only to discover a horrific scene; the entire family lying lifeless, victims of an unknown assailant. 

But when Ruby’s diary is discovered, revealing her rage at the world around her, police are forced to look closer to home for the key to this tragedy.

Each family member harboured their own dark truths – but has keeping their secrets pushed Ruby to the edge of sanity? Or are there darker forces at work?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated. 

The reaction on the night was incredible. Huge thanks to:

Jen Meds Book Reviews

Fictionophile

Being Anne 

Emma The Little Bookworm 

Star Crossed Reviews

By The Letter Book Reviews

Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

Nicki’s Life of Crime

Book Review Café

The Haphazardous Hippo

Chat About Books

My Chestnut Reading Tree

Novel Gossip

Linda’s Book Bag

Donna’s Book Blog

I Love Reading UK

Chelle’s Book Reviews

Damppebbles

Thank-You-Photo-1.jpg

Thanks to all the hard work of all those fabulous bloggers (plus the many others who shared my news through retweets etc), my brilliant readers, and everyone at Bookouture, within the space of a few hours Her Last Secret was sitting at Number 19 in Hot New Releases in psychological fiction. I truly can’t thank everyone enough for being so enthusiastic about my new book.

Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 22.35.26

My happiness and excitement is tempered with sadness, though. My uncle passed away recently, and yesterday was his funeral, which is why I’m so late with my thanks. He was my Godfather, and I was given the middle name of Lesley in honour of his middle name, Leslie. Yesterday was a day of extreme emotions, when the wounds of loss bled freely. But among all the pain and heartache, there was also so much love, hope and positivity. My uncle enjoyed life, had a never-ending stream of funny stories to share, and laughed all the time. I don’t think I ever heard him have a bad word to say about anyone. Ever. Now, it’s time to continue without him, inspired by his outlook. Rest in peace, Norman Price – and thank you for everything you taught me x

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Fiona Ford says:

    Lovely post Barbara, heartfelt and honest. I’m so sorry to hear about your Uncle, but what fabulous news about your book and I’m sure he would be so proud of you and all your wonderful achievements. Congratulations and personally I can’t wait to get my hands on your new book! x

    Like

    1. Thanks, Fiona, for your lovely words. He read all my books. The one I’m currently writing is going to be dedicated to him xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful looking gentleman. This brought a tear to my eye Barbara. I’m sure he was enormously proud of you. Congratulations on all your well deserved success – even if it is tempered with sadness. x

    Like

  3. So sorry for your loss, Barbara. I’m sure he was incredibly proud of what you’ve achieved and would be the first to congratulate you on your new release. Big hugs xx

    Like

  4. Sorry for your loss, lovely, kindly looking gentleman with a twinkle in his eye. I’m so excited about the new book just know it will be huge! Take care xx

    Like

  5. Sorry for your loss. Excitement about the book. Rollercoaster of emotions but keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So sorry to hear about your uncle. So glad that you seem to have had such a great relationship with him. He had such a kind and gentle face.

    Like

  7. So sorry about your uncle, Barbara. He looks like a very kind and distinguished man.

    Many congratulations on your new book.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jen Lucas says:

    A bittersweet week for you. Sorry for your loss but it sounds like you had a good man at your back for many years which is something to cherish. I’ve no doubt he was proud of everything you’ve done.

    So happy for your bookish news though. You deserve every success and when the time for reflection is passed you can celebrate this good news in style. You’ve earned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment, Jen x

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Awwww, I’m so sorry to hear about your Uncle, Barbara 😦 Rest In Peace Norman.

    It was an absolute pleasure being a part of your cover reveal! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sorry about your loss, Barbara. This was a heartfelt post–I’m sure your uncle was very proud of you, and deservedly so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, that’s very kind of you x

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s