gift

“A week I will treasure for the rest of my life”

Monday was my birthday so I knew it was going to be a good week. I just didn’t realise how good!

First, the wonderful Louise Beech, author of How To Be Brave and The Mountain In My Shoe, revealed that she had read Flowers For The Dead. What’s more…she loved it! Her incredible five star Goodreads review can be read here, but highlights include her calling it “an amazing, un-put-down-able read!” and praising the “exquisite writing”. Eek! I have exquisite writing!

All through this week I’ve had brilliant comments from readers of both Invisible and Flowers For The Dead, but must particularly mention THE Book Club on Facebook, run by the fabulous Tracy Fenton. The members have been so incredibly enthusiastic this week, and the volume of comments and how lovely they are has absolutely blown me away. You guys rock!

Surely the week couldn’t get any better. It did.

The gorgeous book blog Many Books, Many Lives posted a review of Flowers For The Dead. I nervously read it, my heart thumping as various phrases leapt out:

“Brimming with a realism that just pulls you in”…

…”the character exploration and the unique point of view was gripping”…

…”a sophisticated and emotional exploration”…

…”Barbara shines lights into the darkest of corners, showing us things previously hidden by the darkness of ‘evil’”…

What a review! I felt like dancing with joy! It concluded: “[Barbara is] a unique and fascinating voice in crime writing.”

I couldn’t possibly ask for more than that! (To read the review in full, click here)

 

Fate had one last treat up its sleeve for me, though, in the form of a Q&A with the lovely author Jan Ellis, which was featured on Becca’s Books blog. Do read the interview in full, here, as it’s wonderful and Jan is a very talented lady…which is why I was so excited when I spotted her answer to the question: Tell us the top three books you’ve read so far in 2016. Jan’s reply?

“Tricky, but I think I’ll go for Benediction by Kent Haruf, Flowers for the Dead by Barbara Copperthwaite and Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell.”

Wow, wow, wow, I’m being mentioned in the same breath as the stunningly talented Maggie O’Farrell! As you can imagine, I was pretty much bouncing off the walls when I read that.

There has also been a lot of exciting things going on in the background with Dying Light – none of which I can share with you at the moment because it may all come to nothing. Argh! I would so LOVE to tell you. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Whatever happens, this has been a week I will treasure for the rest of my life. Every now and again there comes a time when it feels as though all of the stars have aligned. This was one of those times. It truly was a birthday gift.

