Blood Type: every fortnight top thriller & crime authors spill their guts about writing to Barbara Copperthwaite

“I like the story to grow organically from chapter to chapter.”

CRIME AUTHORS SPILL THEIR GUTS ABOUT WRITING. Every fortnight topnotch authors of psychological thrillers and crime fiction share their writing secrets – and the secrets to their success – with you and me.

This week: ANGELA MARSONS.

Tell us about yourself…

359I am a crime writer who lives in the Black Country in the West Midlands. My partner and I
have a bouncy diva Labrador and potty-mouthed parrot. My Number 1 best-selling crime series featuring Detective Kim Stone is published by Bookouture.

I first discovered my love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up my own stories about them. My report card invariably read “Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people’s”.

After years of writing relationship based stories (My Name Is and The Middle Child) I turned to crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.

How do you go about plotting your book?

I normally have a rough idea of the beginning and the end. I’m not a planner as I like the story to grow organically from chapter to chapter. I do have a single sheet of paper which is a vague timeline as I normally have an idea of how many days I want the story to be. As key scenes come to me I…TO IN FULL, CLICK HERE.

